People & Governance

CARA has a Council of Management, recruited mainly from the world of academia.  Members of the Finance & General Purposes Committee (F&GPC) and the Grant Allocation Committee are drawn from the Council.

The Council normally meets annually.  The F&GPC normally meets at least quarterly, with regular e-mail contact between meetings.  The CARA Executive Director is responsible for the day-to-day management of CARA and its staff.

CARA People


Dr Rowan Williams (The Rt Revd and Rt Hon The Lord Williams of Oystermouth PC)

Professor Lord Patel of Bradford, OBE

Rabbi Baroness Neuberger, DBE

The Baroness O'Neill of Bengarve, CH CBE FBA


President Professor Sir Malcolm Grant, CBE

Chair   Mrs Anne Lonsdale MA, CBE
Hon Sec   Dr Frances Dow CBE
Hon Treasurer   Mr David Ure


Executive Director   Stephen Wordsworth CMG LVO

Deputy Executive Director and Middle East Programme Manager   Kate Robertson
UK Programme & Development Manager    Ryan Mundy

Middle East Programme Officer    Zeid Al Bayaty
UK Programme Officer    Alastair Lomas

Middle East Programme Assistant    Alessandra Sciarra

UK Programme Intern     Leiysa Byrne
UK Programme Intern     Rebecca Hacker

Middle East Programme Intern    Rachael Stalker
Middle East Programme Intern    Andrew Mahon
Middle East Programme Intern    Lucy Gallagher 

Volunteer (all Programmes) Harbinda Hanspal